../time-hours-are-insufficient

Navigating Life's Balance Time Management and Pursuits

They aren’t. I’m writing this at one past midnight, need to get up and going at seven, and have approximately fifty things I need to complete each day before bed, time has seemed to fly by lately, and by lately I mean the past few years; I feel as though I am under constant strain.

Ironically, one of my all-time favorite form of entertainement is a game called Pathologic that delights in the fact that player participation is not required for game events to occur. It’s one of the only games where you can only influence the story’s direction rather than control it, creating a constant sense of tension as you race against the clock, and that feeling is the thing that got me hooked early.

The problem is that real life is real life; it’s not a game, and the continual pressure is not exciting in a real-world context, I consider myself to be a very organized person, bordering on OCD in my organization, so I don’t believe it to be a scheduling issue.

The issue may be that I want to do and learn too much at once; it’s challenging to strike the right balance. I try to make the best use of my time to absorb as much information and gain as much experience as possible without going completely crazy. At times, I consider pulling a Nikola Tesla and cutting down on my sleep to just two hours per day, just to get a lot more done.

Anyway, I’m just rambling; I’ll get through it, do what needs to be done, and then, as always, other things to learn will fill my time.

/Personal/